Veganism

Tomorrow marks a decade of vegetarianism for me. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t proud of myself. Ten years ago when I decided to become vegetarian, I had no idea where I was going with it or how long it was going to last. Growing up, I never liked meat. Even before I was old enough to understand where it actually came from, I had an aversion to it. Fried chicken was the only thing I could stomach, and that’s only if it was slathered in ketchup (because mostly I just LOVE ketchup). Then when I was in the 8th grade, I met my best friend, who had just adopted a vegetarian diet and my world was changed. I obviously knew where meat came from, but was naive when it came to the atrocities of the meat industry. He spent the next 9 months educating me on the processes and the dangers of meat and made me realize that it was possible to not have to it. Because that’s how I had always felt growing up, like I had to eat meat. I decided to give it a week trial right after finishing my 8th grade year, and never looked back.

That brings us to today. It’s a strange and prideful time. While I’m thrilled with the lifestyle that I live and my convictions behind it…I can’t help but feel I’m not doing enough. And that’s where veganism sits. I can’t help but think that regardless of how much I selfishly like the taste of cheese or the convenience of still being able to eat at most restaurants, that I’m basically lying to myself. I know animals are not only being harmed and mistreated to produce the eggs and dairy (only in cheese form) that I enjoy, but they are being killed. So I’ve been enlightening myself on how to have a healthy and fulfilling vegan life and I’m really excited to start my new journey. I’m presenting it to my husband as a week trial to mark the ten-year anniversary, but I know that once I start, I won’t ever look back.

8 responses to “Veganism

  1. Congrats on your 10 year anniversary! I’ve just passed my first year of being vegetarian. This was an interesting read as I often wonder if Vegetarianism will naturally lead to Veganism.

    • Thanks! And I’m not sure it always does. My best friend (mentioned in the post) is still happily a vegetarian, and I’m not sure if I see that changing anytime soon. I know at first it’s going to be a challenge, just like catching every food with chicken broth or something in it was a challenge ten years ago. But I feel like I’m finally ready. I no longer feel “guilty” about consuming dairy/eggs, I feel empowered. I feel like I can make a change for myself and in some very, very, very tiny scale, everything else.

      • Aww that’s really great, it does feel good knowing we make a difference (even if it is just small). My twin sister is vegan & at fisrt she found it hard but there are alternatives to everything available now so it’s far easier.
        I look forward to hearing about your vegan experiences! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Veganism | Thoughts, things and stuff·

  3. Wow, Congrats! For me and my quest for better health vegetarianism did lead to becoming a Vegan. (a year and a half ago) I guess for me it was the next logical step in my health walk. I want to just encourage you to just keep taking those steps forward, even if it is just one step at a time and remember that you are healthier today than you where yesterday and that it gets easier the longer you hang in there. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

    • Thanks! It really does just seem like the next logical step in my health/consciousness journey. I watched Vegucated today and, like when I made the decision to become vegetarian, have never been more sure of anything. It’s strange because when you first make a change in your diet, you have to be conscious of every single thing you eat. It’s become habit to eat a vegetarian diet without second thought, so having to keep track of dairy (again, that sneaky cheese) is throwing me out of my routine a bit, but I welcome it. I’m so excited to have this journey and to have people on this blog to share it with. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Talking Vegan | HerbiFit·

Leave a Reply

