Vegan, Day Ten

It’s been one week since my last post about my vegan journey. I mentioned before feeling more lean, less bloated, and more energetic – and that feeling hasn’t changed. I feel in charge of my life and I feel empowered to take on anything. It’s funny how a diet/lifestyle change can have such a massive impact on our outlook.

At first, I thought I was going to heavily rely on vegan cheese substitutes, so I went and bought some vegan mozzarella shreds and some vegan grated parmesan. Both of the cheese subs tasted fine, the mozzarella was even more flavorful that I was expecting – but after about two meals with this, I realized I really didn’t need it. I made a creamy avocado pasta dish last night, which I normally would have smothered in parm, but I didn’t even add “cheese” to it. I’m learning, even more so than I knew before, to appreciate the actual taste of my meals for what they are. It’s a great process – yes, sometimes a bland/disappointing one – but a step in learning none the less.

I’ve been vegan for 10 days, and I am never looking back.

Leave a Reply

