Cold Pressed Juices

I’m a huge juice fan. Knowing that heating the juice (flash-pasteurizing) causes the ingredients inside to lose some of their nutrients, I was naturally drawn to try some cold pressed juices. They do carry a pretty hefty price tag – with Odwalla being anywhere from $2-4, Naked ranging $3-4, and the cold pressed varieties ranging $5-up. This is in my area, at least. If I make a quick stop by a drug store or gas station, Odwalla “Original Superfood” or Naked “Green Machine” are my go-to juices. While there are both flash pasteurized, they contain barley grass, wheat sprouts, dulse, spirulina, chlorella, ect. They’re not just fruity smoothies.

I’ve been dying to try Suja, especially now that they’ve rolled out some new options that are $4.99 at Whole Foods, as opposed to $9. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to make it out to a Whole Foods to get one. I was able to pick up an Evolution Juice this morning at Starbucks though.

Let’s get this first thing straight – Evolution juices are NOT organic, aside from the one labeled organic. But, they are cold pressed and pasteurized using HPP (processing through high pressure, not heat.) I got the Super Green flavor. It’s got orange, mango, apple, pineapple, raspberry, spirulina, chlorelle, wheat grass, barley grass and dulse. It ranks up to 260 cal per bottle, because each bottle is considered two servings. It’s got 350mg of potassium, 60% of your DV of vitamin A, and 40% of your DV of vitamin C.

Yeah, yeah….but how does it TASTE? I thought it was good, although a little planty for my liking. I’m not sure if this is due to the cold pressing or just their recipe. Would I recommend it? Yes and no. Yes, because it’s a cold pressed juice you can get from Starbucks, which is on just about every corner. No, because it’s not organic. And while I feel good about drinking my vitamins/nutrients, I’m not too keen on the idea that they’re not coming from organic sources. It takes away significantly from how healthy these juices could be.

I wouldn’t say not to buy them – but I wouldn’t run out to the nearest Starbucks right now. If they do change their sources to be organic, though – watch out!

Leave a Reply

